Language Exchange Community


Chronocalamity

Scam Mail Example

Posted 2008-10-13 07:52:30 | Comments (1)

Since there has been news on this topic I thought I would share my awesome collection of scam/spam mail I get in result of Pinpal/Language exchange sites I sign up for.

Here is one I just got yesterday:

<meta content="text/html; charset=utf-8" http-equiv="Content-Type" /> <meta content="Word.document" name="ProgId" /> <meta content="Microsoft Word 12" name="Generator" /> <meta content="Microsoft Word 12" name="Originator" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_filelist.xml" rel="File-List" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_themedata.thmx" rel="themeData" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_colorschememapping.xml" rel="colorSchemeMapping" /><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 </xml><xml> </xml> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} </style>

Hello
  how are you today i hope that every things is ok with you as is my pleassure to contact you after viewing your profile which really interest me in having communication with you if you will have the desire with me so that we can get to know each other better and see what happened in future. i will be very happy if you can write me through my email for easiest communication and to know all about each other,here is my email(nengi22love@yahoo.com) l will be waiting to hear from you as i wish you all the best for your day.
yours new friend.
Nengi.

pleaes come to my Email Address (nengi22love@yahoo.com)

 

Now this mail looks almost legit but theres a format to all scam mail.
This type of scam mail is what is known as "Baiting".
The format for this type of scam will always contain 2 email address links or more and it will always be in perfect english even though the subject is suport to be a forener,

In the eyes of crime evedince this would not be enough to say for sure so go ahead and follow it up with as little info you can give.
You should recive a mail that looks like this that has a attachment of a pic:

<meta content="text/html; charset=utf-8" http-equiv="Content-Type" /> <meta content="Word.document" name="ProgId" /> <meta content="Microsoft Word 12" name="Generator" /> <meta content="Microsoft Word 12" name="Originator" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_filelist.xml" rel="File-List" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_themedata.thmx" rel="themeData" /> <link href="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Chrono\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtmlclip11\clip_colorschememapping.xml" rel="colorSchemeMapping" /><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 </xml><xml> </xml> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} </style>

My Dearest,
I am very happy for your reply to my mail despite your busy schedules.
How was your night over there in your country,i believe you had a nice night rest and that the atmosphere over there in your country is very nice today? Mine was a little bit warm over here in  Dakar Senegal.
 
My name is Nengi Weah, 22 years old but age doesn't matter in a real relationship,so i am comfortable with your age,My hobbies are Reading,travelling Listening to good reddiles also my likes are obedient,Honest,sincerity,truth and my dislikes are lie,dishonest,envy,and betrayal.
 I am from Liberia in west Africa,5.6ft tall,fair in complexion single,(never married ) and presently, i am residing here in Dakar as a result of the civil war that was fought in my country some years ago.My late father Mr Mark Weah was the managing director of G WEAH AND INDUSTRIES COMPANY(Ltd) in Monrovia (The capital State of Liberia) before the rebels attacked our house one early morning and killed my mother and my father in cold blood.
 
It was only me that is alive now and I managed to make my way to a near by country Senegal where i am leaving now as a refugee under a Reverend father's care and i am using the computer in his office to send these messages to you.
 
I would like to know more about you.Your likes and dislikes,your hobbies and what you are doing presently.I will like to tell you more about myself in my next mail.Attached here is my picture.I will also like to see yours !
Hoping to hear from you soonest
Yours forever loves Nengi

 

Now lets recap this letter.
for one, no one in the right mind would tell a total stranger about something like this unless they want you to feel really bad for them(This is the baiting proess)
For two, all the scam mails i get are of people from africa and rebels have some how inflicted them and they only way they can send you a messager is from some office.

The next few mails would contain a way to give them money and thats that.

Lets wrap this up.
You can clearly see the format on how this works so don't fall for it.
If you have a trace routing program and want to know were they realy are, use it.
It turns out this person "Nengi" is realy from New York, USA
But be warned if you reply to one of these mails your email address is listed for other punks like this one to use.

I hope this helped you in some way
and just to let everyone know I am still looking for someone to teach me a little japanese for fun.

Chronocalamity

delicious | digg | reddit | technorati

Lucky for you it added the mail headers in there to.
sorry i didn't know it would be posted
Posted by Chronocalamity Oct 13th 2008
Archives
May 2009 (2)
April 2009 (3)
November 2008 (1)
October 2008 (3)

RSS 2.0
Sponsor